Finding beauty in the details

Today, a stranger told me that I am “so pretty”.
I took Savannah (the girl I nanny) to lunch today. When we went to pay, our waitress told me, “I feel like this is weird, but I wanted to tell you I think you are so pretty.” Wait–what? Here I am, hair thrown into a bun, minimal makeup on and feeling super self-conscious and Jade tells me I’m pretty. I almost cried. Maybe some of you can understand… When I look in the mirror all I see are imperfections. So when I get a compliment on a photo, or in person, I initially want to negate it, but hearing one from a complete stranger makes me walk on air. I know I shouldn’t care what others think, but I do (as I’m sure everyone does).
When things like this happen, I really begin to think. I need to find the beauty in the details. There is beauty in every day. When I see an old couple holding hands and having a meal together, when Savannah kisses my cheek and tells me she loves me, when my Basset Hound, Irving, howls his lungs out as I walk through the door. Those moments are beautiful, they’re worth thinking about and appreciating. I encourage each of you to think on the day you’ve had and look past the big ticket items and towards the small details. Maybe it was a sweet text from a friend or loved one, or a kind gesture done by a stranger in public. It’s there.

2015/01/img_3342.jpg

Leave a Reply

