When life gives you avocados (because I loathe avocados)

Life sucks (sometimes).
When I have a crappy day at work and come home to shoes that were torn up by one of the dogs, I get discouraged. When I find a cute top that I want but realize I can’t spend the money on that right now, I feel a little down. I often let my stress get the best of me, Negative Nancy comes around too often for me.
Goal-setting Gina is much better.
Luckily, I’ve learned how to not let it affect me for too long. I think it’s vital to ponder on what has you upset and why, then try to figure out a way to see the silver lining. A few weeks ago I had my heart set on buying a 2015 Jeep Cherokee, I love my Hyundai Elantra, but I have major baby fever, and am ready for a bigger car. Anyway, it didn’t work out. I left the dealership feeling discouraged and letting it affect the way I was acting. When I got home that night, I made a list of goals I want to accomplish this year. There are only three items on the list so far, but they’re important to me. Here they are:
• Pay off debt
• Attend and graduate dental assisting school
• Get a job as a dental assistant
Seriously, Olivia, open your eyes!
The thing is, I have a pretty fantastic life. I have a husband who loves me even when I don’t deserve it. I have three dogs who treat me like I’m the most amazing person in the world. I have two families who love me unconditionally and a handful of friends I could never replace. I have a home, job, a car, I can cook and bake like nobodies business, I have an education and skills that nobody can take away from me.
There are always going to be tough days. Sometimes we’re going to want to question what we’re doing with our lives. Sometimes we’re going to regret choices we made. But when we get to the point in our lives when it all makes sense, we can be thankful. Thankful that we broke up with that person who was no good for us, thankful that we quit the job that made us miserable. Every choice we made in our lives led us to where we are now. We’ve heard it before and we’ll hear it again, we will look back on these days and understand why we went through what we did.
When I need a little inspiration, I just let go of what’s weighing me down and focus on the good in my life. It is probably the most difficult thing to do. Sometimes it takes me a while, but eventually I get there. If you’re feeling depressed or discouraged, I urge you to keep your head up, it’s going to be okay.

IMG_2563-0

Leave a Reply

