The more people I meet, the more I love my dogs.

People come and go, but dogs are here to stay.
So, I’m a little obsessed with my animals. By obsessed I mean… I take tons of photos of them daily, my baby has her own Instagram, I let all three of them sleep with me before Zack comes to bed… You get the picture. I want to go a little into depth about each one and why they mean so much to me! If you’re an animal hater, keep scrolling because I am about to get #obsesseddogmom intense.

Scout the Boston Terrier
Scout is my “first born”. I got her when I was 18 and she’s spent the past 5 years by my side. She’s been my best friend. My body to cry on, (I would say shoulder but she’s only 25 lbs). She has been my “person” through break ups, college, moving from FL to NC, family troubles… Basically everything I’ve gone through between the ages of 18 and 23. She loves the broccoli that comes with Chinese takeout and loves cuddling. She is so well behaved I can’t even stand it. From the night I brought her home she slept in my bed with me the whole night. No crate training and no accidents. She came with me to tennis matches when I was assistant coach and I brought her into Target (in my purse). She and I have shared many knowing looks, conversations (one sided) and cries. I could not have asked for a more perfect best friend!

Thatcher the Miniature Dachshund
Thatcher came into our lives kind of unexpectedly. I never wanted a small dog and I thought Dachshunds just peed and yapped all the time (the peeing part is accurate). But browsing Craigslist one day I came across the photo of a tiny brown Doxie in a pink dress. Zack has always loved the breed and something about that photo grabbed my attention. Mind you, I looked on Craigslist daily to get my puppy fix. After a teeny bit of begging and showing him a few more photos, he caved and I made plans to pick her up the next day. Since Easter weekend of 2014, Thatcher has been my shadow. I take her anywhere I’m allowed and she loves every second of it. She sleeps on me and she kisses me until I feel like my skin is going to fall off. She is in no way perfect, she’s torn up a ton of my shoes, pees on the carpet weekly, abuses the cat and licks the food on my plate while I’m eating. But I honestly believe I was meant to get her. She makes me feel whole, as crazy as that may be. When I come home she’s the first one I say hi to, she hops onto my legs and smothers me with kisses. I could go on and on, but if you want to know the full extent of my obsession, check out her Instagram @thatchertheweenie
Irving the Basset Hound
Irving is the newest, and biggest, addition to our family. We adopted him the week before Christmas of 2014 and were instantly smitten. He is massive at 70 pounds and covered in skin folds. He has the absolute sweetest temperament. He kisses you when he feels like it, he moans like an 80 year old man and he sleeps 20 hours out of the day. When I come home from work, he bowls for ten minutes because he’s so happy I’m home. He’s the best cuddler when Zack isn’t in bed with me. He’s six years old and originally from Brazil, the shelter had no clue how he made it to Charlotte. He’s had numerous homes, the last one he was only there for 3 months. It breaks my heart. I cannot imagine letting such a sweet, loving dog go. I’m so glad that we found him and have made him a part of our family!
People come and go. They’re finicky. One second they love you and the next they don’t. Dogs aren’t like that. They always love you, whether you spanked them five seconds ago for eating an entire bag of dog food (Irving) or for chewing up another pair of Rainbow flip flops, the love is mutual and unconditional. If you have a fur baby, go give them a hug and a kiss. Think about why you love them and what makes you thankful for them! Thanks for reading.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

IMG_1520

IMG_1399

IMG_2040

One thought on “The more people I meet, the more I love my dogs.

Leave a Reply

