I’ve got friends in no places

I’m a nanny. I’ve been a nanny for three years, ever since I moved to Charlotte. Do you know how hard it is to make friends as a nanny? Let me tell you, it ain’t easy. Spending your days with three kids between the ages of one and seven can drive you a little loco. Sometimes you need your girlfriends to steer you back to sanity.

I guess I never thought about how much would change when I moved to a different state. I’ll admit I took my friendships for granted as I’m sure most people do without realizing but on the days that I’m off work and have nobody to get lunch or go shopping or just trash talk with in person, it gets a little lonely.

It isn’t that I have no friends here, I have a few and I love them dearly, but life gets hard when you’re 23, married and working full time. We’re all busy, our schedules are all so conflicted and it’s honestly hard to make time for “girl time”. When you get older you really begin to open your eyes to who your friends are and why they’ve stood the “test of time”. Friends come and go in life, you look back at old photos and remember those faces and the times you shared with that person who is now nothing but a Facebook friend or Instagram follower. The true friendships are the ones who’ve stood by you through it all. The ones you can go to for anything at any time of day or night and they’ll help you no matter how many times you’ve complained to them about the same thing.

I miss my friends. Because of them, I am way too picky about who I hang out with. The handful of true friends that I have, tell me the truth. They don’t sugarcoat anything to make me feel better. If I’m being an idiot, they let me know. They tell me to suck it up and move on. It is never a dull time with them. We know what the other eats at a restaurant, we know exactly what to say to get a smile where a frown just was and we know what songs to play in the car to get them to forget their troubles for a little while. We are always there for each other.

I’ve learned over the years to not spend time with anybody who doesn’t make you a better person. I guess that’s why it’s so hard for me to find friends (besides not having a job where they’re there by the handful). My best friends fulfill me. I love them dearly and cherish what I have with each of them. I love that I can send a photo of chicken fingers and honey mustard to Ashley and she replies with “jealous”. I love that I can text Aly what I just watched on OTH and she sympathizes with me. I love how Aida and I are just smart asses who have the most serious, life-altering conversations via text. I love them!

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful for what I have up here. In all honesty, I am beyond thankful. I have a second family that I never could’ve dreamed up for myself. They get me. They embrace my weirdness and that I’m obsessed with dogs and the ID Channel. They have made me feel welcome in their home since the day I walked in and have made me never want to leave. I have friends through Zack that I can’t imagine life without! Our weekly dinner dates, back porch adventures and helping each other move 10x in two years, I wouldn’t trade for anything.

I guess the point of this post is to share some of my struggles. I am so in love with my life and where I am in it, but sometimes I just miss my friends and family back home! Think of the people in your life. Friends, family, coworkers… what makes you thankful for them?

IMG_2754

Leave a Reply

